Google Groups Home
Help | Sign in
Message from discussion Yet another crappy antispam "software" and asshole author, or Never Use SpamX and Never Deal with Jeff Hendrickson
The group you are posting to is a Usenet group. Messages posted to this group will make your email address visible to anyone on the Internet.
Your reply message has not been sent.
Your post was successful
Rick Troha  
View profile
 More options Jan 9 2005, 9:01 am
Newsgroups: news.admin.net-abuse.email
From: Rick Troha <devn...@nwsup.com>
Date: Sun, 09 Jan 2005 14:01:01 GMT
Local: Sun, Jan 9 2005 9:01 am
Subject: Re: Yet another crappy antispam "software" and asshole author, or Never Use SpamX and Never Deal with Jeff Hendrickson
Michael Tokarev <m...@Russia.email> wrote in
news:crpuve$b5k$1@alpha2.radio-msu.net:

> A few days ago operators of several popular DNSBLs noticied
> a large wave of mis-directed spam complaints from various
> places of world.  The complaints are all titled like
> "EMail Abuse Complaint D/M/YY H:MI:SS" (with a real date),
> contains original spam samples, with from being the spam
> recipient, and are being sent to a large number of various
> addresses, obviously using whois data (sample is at the end
> of this post).  The site is http://www.hendricom.com/, looks
> promising.  There's a support forum too, at
> http://www.hendricom.com/forums/index.php?act=SF&f=3 --
> users are saying good and thankful words about the
> software.  So far so good.

> But there's a problem (note the first sentence of this
> post): the software sends a complain about every URL
> it finds in body and headers of the original spam.
> *Including* the text added by eg SpamAssassin --
>   X-Spam: listed in dsbl, http://dsbl.org/listing?127.0.0.2

> So, now dsbl.org, cbl.abuseat.org, spamhaus.org, sorbs.net,
> spamcop.net and so on and the like are all spamvertisied
> sites, snd the software complains to both the "site owner"
> and its upstream, using the whois information.  Voila,
> go figure, all great spammer.

> For example, dsbl.org got several 100s of complaints that
> way from all over the world in a single day.  CBL is getting
> those too.  Etc.

> But that's not all the story obviously, or else the Subject
> will be different.  Simply fix the bug and be done with it,
> not a big deal really.  But the author isn't that "simple".

> Several people notified him using email.  Several posts has
> been made on the support forum.  Guess what?

> He just deletes the "bad" posts in the support forum, continues
> making new versions without fixing the problem, and leaves
> only "thank you" messags on his forum.  There where several
> posts by me, by Rik van Riel (several attemts), by others --
> all gone in a few minutes...

> There are several other probs with the software obviously
> (look closely at the sample report below -- some characters
> are missing -- eg right after the ===SMTP START== (what's
> SMTP here, btw?), you'll find "evel: ***" header which
> probably was "spam-level:"; and at the very end, there's
> a spamX version number -- supposed to be full name of the
> software with version and the url...)

> So just ask yourself: is such behaviour a good one?  Do you
> want to use such a software from SUCH an author?  I for one
> don't want to deal with him...

Looks like you finally got his attention:

http://www.hendricom.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=440

--
***************************************************
I killfile anyone who responds to Jamie or Moris.
If I don't see your response, that's probably why.
***************************************************


    Reply to author    Forward  
You must Sign in before you can post messages.
To post a message you must first join this group.
Please update your nickname on the subscription settings page before posting.
You do not have the permission required to post.

Create a group - Google Groups - Google Home - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy
©2008 Google