"The search warrants were executed at homes in San Antonio and Belleaire, Texas; Johnson City and Fulton, N.Y.; and Waukesha, Wis. Another search was conducted at the office of The Planet, a Dallas-based Internet service provider."
Although thePlanet is *not* the subject of the investigation, perhaps it should be since they are still hosting an AOL phisher which is still live after being both reported to their abuse department and posted in NANAE. They didn't even acknowledge receipt of the LART.
:: <quote> ::
ab...@thePlanet.com, please cancel the AOL phisher hosted by you at /...@rfedp.biz which is still very much alive on 67.19.148.74
This AOL niche spammer seems to like your service, but others would prefer that you cancel their account for violation of your TOS/AUP. One would think that you now have grounds to cancel all of Bernie Peters / SPEWS S2134 / Reflected.net domains hosted with you.
Google Search: theplanet spews s2134
Results 1 - 10 of about 87 for theplanet spews s2134
Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.
Best Regards,
:: </quote> ::
More information is expected today about the massive arrests and search warrants executed by the US government. If only they would execute a few of the spammers as an example as well.
Cheers,
SuN
-- "Nobody saw me. I didn't do it. You can't prove a thing." -O.J. Simpson, or was it Bart?
> "The search warrants were executed at homes in San Antonio and > Belleaire, Texas; Johnson City and Fulton, N.Y.; and Waukesha, Wis. > Another search was conducted at the office of The Planet, a > Dallas-based Internet service provider."
Is that article available somewhere else? I tried to go to it, but it apparently wants a screen name and password, and I don't have an account there.
Karen in MN wrote: > Is that article available somewhere else? I tried to go to it, but it > apparently wants a screen name and password, and I don't have an account > there.
the're some media reports out (google news): e.g.
Feds launch Internet crime crackdown, From Terry Frieden CNN Thursday, August 26, 2004 Posted: 1502 GMT (2302 HKT)
>"The search warrants were executed at homes in San Antonio and >Belleaire, Texas; Johnson City and Fulton, N.Y.; and Waukesha, Wis. >Another search was conducted at the office of The Planet, a >Dallas-based Internet service provider."
>Although thePlanet is *not* the subject of the investigation, perhaps >it should be since they are still hosting an AOL phisher
Perhaps, but the article and charges on those accused has nothing to do with the phishers:
"The FBI seized computers, software and equipment as part of an investigation into illegal sharing of copyright movies, music and games..."
-- --
Paging Snotty Richter, please pick up the red "You're Fucked Now" phone. Keep the Internet clean, practise spammus interruptus
bananana...@blockedby.us (SuN Tsu) wrote in message <news:5a07596f.0408260648.525f81d9@posting.google.com>... > thePlanet.com is host to some of the most egregious spammers and > phishers on the Internet. Just yesterday it was announced that,
> "The search warrants were executed at homes in San Antonio and > Belleaire, Texas; Johnson City and Fulton, N.Y.; and Waukesha, Wis. > Another search was conducted at the office of The Planet, a > Dallas-based Internet service provider."
> Although thePlanet is *not* the subject of the investigation, perhaps > it should be since they are still hosting an AOL phisher which is > still live after being both reported to their abuse department and > posted in NANAE. They didn't even acknowledge receipt of the LART.
> :: <quote> ::
> ab...@thePlanet.com, please cancel the AOL phisher hosted by you at > /...@rfedp.biz which is still very much alive on 67.19.148.74
> This AOL niche spammer seems to like your service, but others would > prefer that you cancel their account for violation of your TOS/AUP. > One would think that you now have grounds to cancel all of Bernie > Peters / SPEWS S2134 / Reflected.net domains hosted with you.
> Google Search: theplanet spews s2134
> Results 1 - 10 of about 87 for theplanet spews s2134
> Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.
> Best Regards,
> :: </quote> ::
> More information is expected today about the massive arrests and > search warrants executed by the US government. If only they would > execute a few of the spammers as an example as well.
> Cheers,
> SuN
I copy the FBI on these phish attempts, particularly the ones that reference a US site or ISP. (Submit a tip on their website).
> > "The search warrants were executed at homes in San Antonio and > > Belleaire, Texas; Johnson City and Fulton, N.Y.; and Waukesha, Wis. > > Another search was conducted at the office of The Planet, a > > Dallas-based Internet service provider."
> > Although thePlanet is *not* the subject of the investigation, perhaps > > it should be since they are still hosting an AOL phisher which is > > still live after being both reported to their abuse department and > > posted in NANAE. They didn't even acknowledge receipt of the LART.
> > :: <quote> ::
> > ab...@thePlanet.com, please cancel the AOL phisher hosted by you at > > /...@rfedp.biz which is still very much alive on 67.19.148.74
> > This AOL niche spammer seems to like your service, but others would > > prefer that you cancel their account for violation of your TOS/AUP. > > One would think that you now have grounds to cancel all of Bernie > > Peters / SPEWS S2134 / Reflected.net domains hosted with you.
> > Google Search: theplanet spews s2134
> > Results 1 - 10 of about 87 for theplanet spews s2134
> > Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.
> > Best Regards,
> > :: </quote> ::
> > More information is expected today about the massive arrests and > > search warrants executed by the US government. If only they would > > execute a few of the spammers as an example as well.
> > Cheers,
> > SuN
> I copy the FBI on these phish attempts, particularly the ones that > reference a US site or ISP. (Submit a tip on their website).
Good suggestion!
"Your tip has been successfully submitted."
Oh, Phil, Behalten Sie Ihre Oren Steif.
Listen for the knock. :)
Cheers,
SuN
-- "Nobody saw me. I didn't do it. You can't prove a thing.
Hmm, we'll (tinw) see what the FBI has to say about that!
> Abandoning the right to remain silent, SuN Tsu at Thu, 26 Aug 2004 > 07:48:32 -0700 said:
> > thePlanet.com is host to some of the most egregious spammers and > > phishers on the Internet. Just yesterday it was announced that,
> NET-67-18-240-0-1 suballocated from thePlanet.com joined a select group of > subnets I have blackholed today for sshd probing.
You are correct.
Internet America began buying smaller ISP's a few years back. When they did, both customer service and satisfaction deteriorated. Spammy knows how to "play" ISP's who try to grow too fast and who value money over good buisiness ethics.
Still, thePlanet.com *never* did acknowledge the LART and the phisher is *still* live. That bad belongs to thePlanet.
CustName: Internet America Address: 350 N. St. Paul, Suite 3000 City: Dallas StateProv: TX PostalCode: 75201 Country: US RegDate: 2004-05-19 Updated: 2004-05-19