A few days ago operators of several popular DNSBLs noticied
a large wave of mis-directed spam complaints from various
places of world. The complaints are all titled like
"EMail Abuse Complaint D/M/YY H:MI:SS" (with a real date),
contains original spam samples, with from being the spam
recipient, and are being sent to a large number of various
addresses, obviously using whois data (sample is at the end
of this post). The site is
http://www.hendricom.com/, looks
promising. There's a support forum too, at
http://www.hendricom.com/forums/index.php?act=SF&f=3 --
users are saying good and thankful words about the
software. So far so good.
But there's a problem (note the first sentence of this
post): the software sends a complain about every URL
it finds in body and headers of the original spam.
*Including* the text added by eg SpamAssassin --
X-Spam: listed in dsbl, http://dsbl.org/listing?127.0.0.2
So, now dsbl.org, cbl.abuseat.org, spamhaus.org, sorbs.net,
spamcop.net and so on and the like are all spamvertisied
sites, snd the software complains to both the "site owner"
and its upstream, using the whois information. Voila,
go figure, all great spammer.
For example, dsbl.org got several 100s of complaints that
way from all over the world in a single day. CBL is getting
those too. Etc.
But that's not all the story obviously, or else the Subject
will be different. Simply fix the bug and be done with it,
not a big deal really. But the author isn't that "simple".
Several people notified him using email. Several posts has
been made on the support forum. Guess what?
He just deletes the "bad" posts in the support forum, continues
making new versions without fixing the problem, and leaves
only "thank you" messags on his forum. There where several
posts by me, by Rik van Riel (several attemts), by others --
all gone in a few minutes...
There are several other probs with the software obviously
(look closely at the sample report below -- some characters
are missing -- eg right after the ===SMTP START== (what's
SMTP here, btw?), you'll find "evel: ***" header which
probably was "spam-level:"; and at the very end, there's
a spamX version number -- supposed to be full name of the
software with version and the url...)
So just ask yourself: is such behaviour a good one? Do you
want to use such a software from SUCH an author? I for one
don't want to deal with him...
/mjt
Sample report follows, with some @'s replaced with [X]'s.
Subject: EMail Abuse Complaint 8/01/05 13:24:28
From: ako...@newsguy.com
Date: Sat, 8 Jan 2005 13:28:38 -0600
To: ADMIN[X]DSBL.ORG, ABUSE[X]TACONIC.NET, SSRADMIN[X]TELMEX.COM, IPS-ADM[X]UNINET.NET.MX, LEGAL[X]NIC.MX, DOMINIOS[X]TELMEX.COM, ABUSE[X]UNINET.NET.MX, POSTMASTER[X]UNINET.NET.MX, ABUSE[X]NIC.MX
I believe this email either originated from your domain, your domain was involved in it's delivery, or you are the victim of a spammer abusing your domain. All of the information is included for you to take action.
Here is the SMTP information.
IP Address(es) traced through 201.128.81.77 - 248.104.212.196 -
Spamvertized Domain(s) DSBL.ORG -
Domain(s) traced through UNINET.NET.MX -
Abuse address(es) traced to ADMIN[X]DSBL.ORG - ABUSE[X]TACONIC.NET - SSRADMIN[X]TELMEX.COM - IPS-ADM[X]UNINET.NET.MX - LEGAL[X]NIC.MX - DOMINIOS[X]TELMEX.COM - ABUSE[X]UNINET.NET.MX - POSTMASTER[X]UNINET.NET.MX - ABUSE[X]NIC.MX -
== SMTP Start ==========
evel: ********************
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=20.3 required=7.0 tests=BAYES_99,HELO_DYNAMIC_DHCP,
HELO_DYNAMIC_IPADDR,HTML_40_50,HTML_MESSAGE,RCVD_ILLEGAL_IP,
RCVD_IN_DSBL,RCVD_IN_NJABL_DUL,RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL,RCVD_IN_SORBS_HTTP,
RCVD_IN_SORBS_MISC,RCVD_IN_XBL,URIBL_SBL,URIBL_WS_SURBL
autolearn=spam version=3.0.2
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----------=_41DEEB14.3691D71D"
X-MailScanner-Information: This email message has been scanned for viruses
X-MailScanner-HostGo: Found to be clean
Payyless fOr Wnd0ws 2ooo Server
Sender: "Elisabeth Lam" <ygemdtrc...@sofcom.com.au>
Message-ID: <364459645216.EBN69...@lucrative.goodgirlz.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/related;
boundary="Java.FBWWO.57978303078977925"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
Message-Id: <1797928@MPQMG>
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1437
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1437
X-MailScanner-Information: This email message has been scanned for viruses
X-MailScanner-HostGo: Found to be clean
X-Spam-Exim: pCWyj5_c7Tvvutm9wqHEleW6
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
--Java.FBWWO.57978303078977925
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="Java.EVBYR.9139572339837257858"
--Java.EVBYR.9139572339837257858
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Minnesota, which can clinch a wild-card
playoff spot with a loss by either Carolina or St. Louis this weekend, appeared on
its way to retaking the lead. But a holding penalty on Birk -- the Vikings were
flagged nine times for 78 yards -- wiped out a 16-yard run by Michael Bennett that
would have given them the ball at the Green Bay 40 just before the 2-minute warning.
--Java.EVBYR.9139572339837257858
Content-Type: text/html;
chars
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
------------=_41DEEB14.3691D71D
Content-Type: text/plain
Content-Disposition: inline
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Spam detection software, running on the system "rome.hostgo.com", has
identified this incoming email as possible spam. The original message
has been attached to this so you can view it (if it isn't spam) or label
similar future email. If you have any questions, see
the administrator of that system for details.
Content preview: Minnesota, which can clinch a wild-card playoff spot
with a loss by either Carolina or St. Louis this weekend, appeared on
its way to retaking the lead. But a holding penalty on Birk -- the
Vikings were flagged nine times for 78 yards -- wiped out a 16-yard
run by Michael Bennett that would have given them the ball at the
Green Bay 40 just before the 2-minute warning. [...]
Content analysis details: (20.3 points, 7.0 required)
pts rule name description
---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------
4.4 HELO_DYNAMIC_IPADDR Relay HELO'd using suspicious hostname (IP addr 1)
1.2 HELO_DYNAMIC_DHCP Relay HELO'd using suspicious hostname (DHCP)
0.9 RCVD_ILLEGAL_IP Received: contains illegal IP address
1.9 BAYES_99 BODY: Bayesian spam probability is 99 to 100%
[score: 1.0000]
0.0 HTML_MESSAGE BODY: HTML included in message
0.0 HTML_40_50 BODY: Message is 40% to 50% HTML
0.1 RCVD_IN_NJABL_DUL RBL: NJABL: dialup sender did non-local SMTP
[201.128.81.77 listed in combined.njabl.org]
0.3 RCVD_IN_SORBS_MISC RBL: SORBS: sender is open proxy server
[201.128.81.77 listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]
0.0 RCVD_IN_SORBS_HTTP RBL: SORBS: sender is open HTTP proxy server
[201.128.81.77 listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]
3.8 RCVD_IN_DSBL RBL: Received via a relay in list.dsbl.org
[<http://dsbl.org/listing?201.128.81.77>]
3.1 RCVD_IN_XBL RBL: Received via a relay in Spamhaus XBL
[201.128.81.77 listed in sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org]
2.0 RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL RBL: SORBS: sent directly from dynamic IP address
[201.128.81.77 listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net]
1.0 URIBL_SBL Contains an URL listed in the SBL blocklist
[URIs: goforthesoft.info]
1.5 URIBL_WS_SURBL Contains an URL listed in the WS SURBL blocklist
[URIs: goforthesoft.info]
The original message was not completely plain text, and may be unsafe to
open with some email clients; in particular, it may contain a virus,
or confirm that your address can receive spam. If you wish to view
it, it may be safer to save it to a file and open it with an editor.
------------=_41DEEB14.3691D71D
Content-Type: message/rfc822; x-spam-type=original
Content-Description: original message before SpamAssassin
Content-Disposition: attachment
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Received: from [201.128.81.77] (helo=dsl-201-128-81-77.prod-infinitum.com.mx)
by rome.hostgo.com with smtp (Exim 4.43)
id 1Cn0KL-0007W8-JW
for adr...@bekolite.com; Fri, 07 Jan 2005 15:03:22 -0500
Received: from afterthought.adres.nl ([248.174.119.38])
by brenda.adres.nl (Sun Java System Messaging Server 6.1 HotFix 0.03 (built
Aug 25 2004)) with ESMTP id <0Q9R00WS387F...@brenda.adres.nl> for
adr...@bekolite.com; Fri, 07 Jan 2005 13:50:29 -0600 (IST)
Received: from lucrative.goodgirlz.com ([248.104.212.196])
by afterthought.adres.nl
(Sun Java System Messaging Server 6.1 HotFix 0.05 (built Aug 29 2004))
with ESMTP id <0C5V00LX647I...@afterthought.adres.nl> for adr...@bekolite.com
(ORCPT adr...@bekolite.com); Fri, 07 Jan 2005 21:55:29 +0200 (IST)
Date: Fri, 07 Jan 2005 17:58:29 -0200
From: "Elisabeth Lam" <ygemdtrc...@sofcom.com.au>
To: <adr...@bekolite.com>
Subject: Payyless fOr Wnd0ws 2ooo Server
Sender: "Elisabeth Lam" <ygemdtrc...@sofcom.com.au>
Message-ID: <364459645216.EBN69...@lucrative.goodgirlz.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/related;
boundary="Java.FBWWO.57978303078977925"
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
Message-Id: <1797928@MPQMG>
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1437
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2800.1437
X-MailScanner-Information: This email message has been scanned for viruses
X-MailScanner-HostGo: Found to be clean
X-Spam-Exim: pCWyj5_c7Tvvutm9wqHEleW6
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
--Java.FBWWO.57978303078977925
Content-Type:
...
read more »